A new WhatsApp update will DELETE your Data
Written by Cool FM 97.4 on Sep 10, 2018
A new WhatsApp update will DELETE your messages, photos and videos
Here’s how to keep them..
“To avoid the loss of any back-ups, we recommend you manually buack up your WhatsApp data before November 12, 2018.”
As any smartphone user will know, apps regularly need to be updated, however this latest update from WhatsApp could serious rock the boat!
According to the WhatApp website, the new update changes the way backed-up data for the app works, and it could result in you having your precious messages, photos and videos DELETED.
Currently, WhatsApp backs up your data to Google Drive, however Google is making a change, which means that the backed-up data won’t contribute to your storage limit (sounds good!) – but this does come with a catch.
This change will mean that WhatsApp will start deleting some of the content that is already there, and if you haven’t updated your backup in the last year, then it will be completely deleted.
An email sent to users explained, “Due to a new agreement between WhatsApp and Google, WhatsApp backups will no longer count against Google Drive storage quota.
“However, any WhatsApp backups that have not been updated in more than a year will automatically be removed from storage.”
Manually back up your precious data by taking the following easy steps
- Select the ‘Menu’ option on Whatsapp. This can be found at the top right of the homepage.
- Select ‘Settings’
- Select ‘Chats’
- Select ‘Chat backup’
- Finally, select ‘BACK UP’